Celebrating Excellence: New criteria announced for Honorary Awards

Loughborough University is engaging all staff in a new nominations process for its two honorary awards.

All members of the Loughborough community are encouraged to nominate exceptional individuals to receive either a University Medal or an Honorary Degree.

University Medallists celebrate the very best of the Loughborough community; the University Medal is the most prestigious honour that the University can award. Only a small number are given out each year and they are normally presented at a graduation ceremony.

Loughborough University bestows Honorary Degrees on high-profile individuals who have made outstanding contributions to fields which the University has close links with. Areas of contribution could be any academic, business or professional service area, or of particular relevance to the University’s values and strategic vision.

The new criteria support the delivery of the new University Strategy Creating Better Futures - Together.

Vice-Chancellor of Loughborough University Professor Nick Jennings said: “A huge part of the success here at Loughborough University is the contribution we make to society. With our Honorary Degrees, we want to honour those global changemakers who are Creating Better Futures in areas in which the University excels. As the University’s highest honour, our University Medals are bestowed on those who have made a significant impact working together with us here at Loughborough. Opening nominations to all staff is just one way in which we are moving forward together.

Ade Adepitan, Jude Kelly and Gary Lineker are just some of the previous recipients of honorary awards from Loughborough over the last four decades. You can see more of our previous honorary award winners online.

In relaunching the University Honours nominations process there is an initial focus on exceptional individuals to recognise at this academic year's graduations.

Nominations for members of our internal and wider community are now open. The deadline for nominations is 20 September 2022.

If you would like more information on working with previous Honorary Degree recipients, please contact Alison Barlow.