Loughborough University Enterprise Awards 2017: Voting now open

The innovative research and creative focus of Loughborough University’s most inventive individuals are being celebrated again at this year’s Enterprise Awards – with the public voting now open.

Each year, Loughborough aims to recognise the best entrepreneurial and enterprising academics, undergraduates or postgraduates, who continue to find new and exciting solutions to problems or create a positive impact on everyday life.

Four categories make up the 2017 awards, the winners of which will be announced on Wednesday, May 17, at a ceremony held at the Loughborough University campus.

The nominees are aiming for success in: Impact from Research, One to Watch, Graduate Enterprise and Placement Student – the full list of those involved is included below.

Examples of some of the entries include research into managing the outbreaks of disease within animal populations, such as the 2007 foot-and-mouth crisis; technology for predicting flooding up to 48 hours in advance; wearable AI technology for athletes and five students who have excelled during their work placements.

Voting for the competition ends on May 15. 

To cast your vote, visit: www.lboro.ac.uk/enterprise/enterprise-awards

Follow the progress of the awards on Twitter using #LboroEnterpriseAwards

Categories and nominees:

Impact from research

Professor John Mardaljevic: Climate-based daylight modelling

Professor Gilberto Montibeller and Professor L. Alberto Franco: Managing bio-security threats

Ruth Welsh and James Lenard: Protecting cyclists by improving car safety technology

Professor Jo Aldridge: Transforming the lives of young carers and their families

One to watch

Professor Graham Hargrave and Dr Jonathan Wilson: ACCT - reducing harmful diesel emissions

Dr James Flint, Professor Neil Dixon and Dr Alister Smith: Community Slope SAFE

Dr Dapeng Yu, Professor Rob Wilby and Dr Mingfu Guan: Real-time flood nowcasting to support emergency responders

Professor Geoff Wilcox, Dr Mark Ashworth, Dr Xujin Bao: WHISKERMIT

Graduate enterprise

Incus Performance




Student placement

Becky Langley: Nottingham Forest Football Club Academy

Brett Friskney: Lubrizol

Charlotte Wise: American Express

Holly Kerslake: MTC

Beth Walker-Smith: Pirelli Burton

Loughborough is one of the country’s leading universities, with an international reputation for research that matters, excellence in teaching, strong links with industry, and unrivalled achievement in sport.

The University has been awarded five stars in all areas according to the independent QS Stars university rating scheme. It has also been named the best university in the world for sports-related subjects in the 2019 QS World University Rankings, top in the country for its student experience in the 2018 THE Student Experience Survey and University of the Year by The Times and Sunday Times University Guide 2019 and the Whatuni Student Choice Awards 2018.

Loughborough is in the top 10 of every national league table, being ranked 4th in the Guardian University League Table 2019, 5th in the Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide 2019 and 7th in The UK Complete University Guide 2019. It was also named Sports University of the Year by The Times and Sunday Times Good University Guide in 2017.

Loughborough has risen to 5th place in the Times Higher Education (THE) ‘Table of Tables’ 2019 and is in the top 10 in England for research intensity according to the latest Research Excellence Framework (2014). In recognition of its contribution to the sector, Loughborough has been awarded seven Queen's Anniversary Prizes.

Specialising exclusively in postgraduate-level study, Loughborough University London is based on the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park and offers cutting-edge master’s and PhD degrees, as well as business collaboration, research and enterprise opportunities.

The seven specialist institutes at Loughborough University London include: Design Innovation, Digital Technologies, Diplomacy and International Governance, Innovation and Entrepreneurship, International Management, Media and Creative Industries, and Sport Business. Close industry partnerships with a wealth of leading businesses and creative organisations means teaching and learning is informed by real-life challenges and driven by true industry pressures.